Skip to main content


European Policy for Intellectual Property (EPIP) 10th Annual Conference

Posted on    by Diane McGrattan

European Policy for Intellectual Property (EPIP) 10th Annual Conference

European Policy for Intellectual Property

European Commission

RCUK Centre for Copyright and New Business Models in the Creative Economy (CREATe)

University of Glasgow

IP in the Creative Economy
CREATe, University of Glasgow, Scotland, UK
2-3 September 2015

Call for Extended Abstracts, Full Papers and Proposals for Themed Sessions will close on Wednesday, May 20, 2015. Please visit the conference website

CREATe, the RCUK Centre for Copyright and New Business Models in the Creative Economy, will host the 10th Annual Conference of the EPIP Association  (European Policy for Intellectual Property) association in Glasgow, September 2-3, 2015.  Scholars and practitioners interested in the economic, legal, political and managerial aspects of intellectual property rights are encouraged to attend the conference with or without scientific paper presentation.

EPIP 2015 is organised in cooperation with the European Commission who will participate in several panels.

The conference will explore the role of Intellectual Property in the Creative Economy, with a focus on copyright, data and the changing economics of the digital world.  Conceptual and methodological overlaps with the traditional topics of EPIP relating to patents and technological innovation are particularly encouraged.

Plenary sessions will focus on the digital economy, economic history and evidence, copyright reform and big data. Panels are also being prepared on the unitary patent, and overlap of trade dress and designs.

Keynote speakers:

  • Ian Hargreaves (Cardiff, UK)
  • Petra Moser (New York University, USA)
  • Pamela Samuelson (Berkeley, USA)
  • Richard Watt (Canterbury NZ, and Society for Economic Research on Copyright Issues, SERCI)

Other confirmed speakers include:

  • Stefan Bechtold (ETH Zürich, Switzerland)
  • Lionel Bently (Cambridge, UK)
  • Tony Clayton (Imperial College, UK)
  • Peter Drahos (Australian National University, Australia)
  • Séverine Dussolier (Sciences Po, Paris, France)
  • Georg von Graevenitz (Queen Mary, University of London, UK)
  • Ruben Gutierrrez di Castillo (SGAE/Fundacion Autor, Spain)
  • Stuart Graham (Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, USA)
  • Christian Handke (Erasmus University Rotterdam, Netherlands)
  • Bertin Martens (Institute for Prospective Technological Studies, Sevilla, Spain)
  • Sylvie Nerisson (Max Planck Institute, München, Germany)
  • Bronwyn Hall (Berkeley, USA)
  • Pippa Hall (UK Intellectual Property Office)
  • Dietmar Harhoff (Max Planck Institute, München, Germany)
  • Paul Heald (University of Illinois, USA)
  • Bernt Hugenholtz (University of Amsterdam, Netherlands)
  • Maria Martin-Prat (European Commission, DG CNECT) tbc
  • Kamil Kiljanski (European Commission, DG GROW)
  • Geertrui van Overwalle (University of Leuven, Belgium)
  • Joost Poort (University of Amsterdam, Netherlands)
  • Ole-Andreas Rognstad (University of Oslo, Norway)
  • Ingrid Schneider (University of Hamburg, Germany)
  • Alain Strowel (Facultés Universitaires Saint-Louis, Belgium)
  • Ruth Towse (Bournemouth University, UK & CREATe)
  • Patrick Walbroeck (Télecom ParisTech, France)
  • Joel Waldfogel (University of Minnesota, USA)
  • Elisabeth Webster (Swinburne University of Technology, Australia)
  • Sacha Wunsch-Vincent (WIPO)