Skip to main content

CREATe Governance

The initial CREATe consortium (2012-2018) was governed as an RCUK Centre through three bodies, drawing on funders, academia, industry and civil society. These bodies are the Governance Board, the Management Committee and the Programme Advisory Council. Since 2019, CREATe’s governance is integrated into the AHRC Creative Industries Policy & Evidence Centre (2019-2023) and the reCreatingEurope H2020 Consortium (2020-2023).

Governance Board (2012-2018)

The CREATe Governance Board comprised the following members (2018):

Prof Steve Beaumont, University of Glasgow (chair);
Frank Boyd, Innovation Process Specialist, Knowledge Transfer Network;
Prof Georgina Follett, University of Dundee (funders’ nominee);
Prof Faye Hammill, University of Strathclyde (consortium representative);
Javier Ruiz, Policy Director of the Open Rights Group;
Robin Smith, Head of Collections and Interpretation, National Library of Scotland;
Prof Andrew Thompson, CEO AHRC.

Former consortium representatives and members:

Prof David Littlejohn, Strathclyde University;
Prof Jane Powell, Goldsmiths;
Prof Saul Tendler, University of Nottingham;
Prof Chris Breward, University of Edinburgh;
Prof Dave Petley, University of East Anglia;
Prof Rick Rylance, AHRC;
Jim Killock, Executive Director of the Open Rights Group.

The participating research councils nominated the following observers:

AHRC: Heather Williams
EPSRC: Jerome Ma
ESRC: Eloise Meller

The Governance Board has overall responsibility for ensuring that the Project remains on track to achieve its aims and objectives and it achieves this by reviewing progress, making recommendations based on the information presented to it and by providing strategic guidance and direction for the Project.

The Governance Board is chaired by Steve Beaumont, Emeritus Vice Principal at the University of Glasgow, and comprises of two senior representatives chosen from the Consortium partners (these memberships rotate on an annual basis), three representatives chosen from amongst the Project’s industry, public arts and civil society champions and two representatives appointed by the Funder.

CREATe RCUK Annual Reports

CREATe Festival (RSA, London, 24 June 2016)

Capacity Building Activities

Management Committee

Members of the Management Committee are: Martin Kretschmer (chair, and Director), Lilian Edwards (Strathclyde, and deputy director), Philip Schlesinger (Glasgow, and deputy director), Sarah Kember (Goldsmiths), Derek McAuley (Nottingham), Burkhard Schafer (Edinburgh), John Street (UEA), Barbara Townley (St Andrews).

Each member represents the views of a consortium partner, and may nominate a substitute.

Programme Advisory Council

CREATe’s Programme Advisory Council contributes to the research agenda and academic vision of the Centre. Its two core functions are (1) to support engagement with stakeholders, especially industry, policy makers, public sector cultural institutions and civil society, and (2) to provide domain expertise in proposing and reviewing applications for new work.

The Council is chaired by Tony Clayton, former chief economist of the UK Intellectual Property Office. He follows on from Alison Brimelow who chaired from 2012-16. Alison was Chief Executive and Comptroller General of the UK Patent Office (now the Intellectual Property Office) and the fifth President of the European Patent Office, a position she held from 2007 to 2010.

Members of the Programme Advisory Council (PAC):

Tony Clayton (Chair 2017-2019)
Alison Brimelow (Chair 2012-16)

UK based members
Nick Appleyard (Innovate UK)
Richard Arnold (Judge in charge of the Patent Court)
Robert Ashcroft (PRS for Music)
Hasan Bakhshi (Nesta)
Frank Boyd (Creative Industries Knowledge Transfer Network)
Roger Burt (Chartered Institute of Patent Attorneys)
Pippa Hall (Intellectual Property Office)
Laurence Kaye (Shoosmiths LLP)
Javier Ruiz (Open Rights Group)
Claire Tansley (Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council)
Hector MacQueen (Scottish Law Commission)
Robin Smith (National Library of Scotland)
Charlotte Dormer (Economic and Social Research Council)
Richard Paterson (British Film Institute)
Jeremy Silver (Digital Catapult, MusicGlue Ltd, Bridgeman Art Library)
Heather Williams (Arts and Humanities Research Council) (2012-2018)
Jerome Ma (Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council) (2013-2016)
Eloise Meller (Economic and Social Research Council) (2014-2016)
Jim Killock (Open Rights Group) (2013-2016)

International members
Reto Hilty (Max-Planck-Institute for IP & Competition Law, Munich)
Jeanette Hofmann (Humboldt Centre for Internet & Society, Berlin)
Bernt Hugenholtz (Institute for Information Law IViR, University of Amsterdam)
Joe Karaganis (The American Assembly, Columbia University)
Andrew Kenyon (University of Melbourne)
Zorina Khan (Bowdoin College Maine, USA)
Helge Rønning (University of Oslo)
Pamela Samuelson (Berkeley Centre for Law & Technology, USA)
Sacha Wunsch-Vincent (World Intellectual Property Organization)

The Programme Advisory Council meets in conjunction with major CREATe events, and the views of its membership are regularly solicited. The Council’s chair will be consulted on any application for new internal funding distribution, and may suggest suitable additional reviewers among the Advisory Council members.

Sectoral working groups, comprising members of the Advisory Council, stakeholders and CREATe academics, will be facilitated initially for the following sectors: archives, fashion, film and broadcasting, games, music, publishing, platforms and intermediaries.

Notes from the CREATe, PAC and Industry stakeholders event co-sponsored by UK Intellectual Property Office and hosted by PRS for Music (Fri 5th December, 2014) are available to download (PDF format, 521 KB).

The agenda for the next phase of CREATe research (2018-2023) was developed through a Copyright & Innovation Network funded by the AHRC.