Skip to main content

No agreement on Copyright Directive text, final trilogue cancelled


18 January 2019

At the Council meeting of 18 January, the Romanian presidency failed to secure agreement from national governments on the final text of the Copyright Directive. Eleven countries reportedly voted against the proposed compromise text: Germany, Belgium, the Netherlands, Finland, Slovenia, Italy, Poland, Sweden, Croatia, Luxembourg and Portugal. Consequently, what was set to be the final trilogue negotiation on 21 January, has been cancelled. In the interim, the Council may consider revised texts, and a further trilogue date may be set pre-election.