Skip to main content

European Copyright Society Response to the European Commission’s Public Consultation on the Review of the EU Satellite and Cable Directive


Response to European Commission Consultation on the Satellite and Cable Directive


Between August and November 2015 the European Commission consulted on Directive 93/83/EEC of 27 September 1993 on the coordination of certain rules concerning copyright and rights related to copyright applicable to satellite broadcasting and cable retransmission (Directive) first to gather input for the evaluation process in order to assess the current rules, and, second, to seek views on a possible extension of the Directive in light of market and technological developments, with the objective of contributing to the Digital Single Market Strategy. This is the European Copyright Society’s response.

On behalf of the European Copyright Society:

  • Prof. Valérie Laure Benabou
    Professor, University Versailles Saint Quentin
  • Prof. Estelle Derclaye
    Professor of Intellectual Property Law, University of Nottingham, United Kingdom
  • Prof. Graeme B. Dinwoodie
    Director, Oxford Intellectual Property Research Centre (OIPRC), University of Oxford, United Kingdom
  • Prof. Thomas Dreier
    Director, Institute for Information and Economic Law, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany
  • Prof. Séverine Dusollier
    Professor, School of Law, SciencesPo, Paris (France), and Centre de Recherche Information, Droit et Société (CRIDS), University of Namur (Belgium)
  • Prof. Christophe Geiger
    Director, Centre d’Etudes Internationales de la Propriété Intellectuelle (CEIPI), University of Strasbourg, France
  • Jonathan Griffiths
    Reader in Intellectual Property Law, School of Law, Queen Mary University of London, United Kingdom
  • Prof. Reto Hilty
    Director, Max Planck Institute for Innovation and Competition, Munich, Germany
  • Prof. P. Bernt Hugenholtz
    Director, Institute for Information Law, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Prof. Marie-Christine Janssens
    Professor Intellectual Property Law, University Leuven (KU Leuven), Belgium
  • Prof. Martin Kretschmer
    Professor of Intellectual Property Law, University of Glasgow; and Director, CREATe, United Kingdom
  • Prof. Axel Metzger
    Professor of Civil and Intellectual Property Law, Humboldt-Universität Berlin
  • Prof. Alexander Peukert
    Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main, Germany
  • Prof. Marco Ricolfi
    Chair of Intellectual Property, Turin Law School, Italy
  • Prof. Ole-Andreas Rognstad
    Professor of Law, Department of Private Law, University of Oslo, Norway
  • Prof. Martin Senftleben
    Professor of Intellectual Property, VU University Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Prof. Alain Strowel,
    Professor, Saint-Louis University and University of Liège, Belgium
  • Prof. Raquel Xalabarder
    Chair on Intellectual Property, Universitat Oberta de Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain.

Download the European Copyright Society’s Response (PDF format)